top of page

On the road with Pastor John


Hoping that you enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday. It's hard to believe that we are already rolling up on Christmas! I am personally grateful for the opportunity to preach at the Los Angeles Holiness Church this coming Sunday on the second Sunday of Advent. It's a way for me to prepare my own heart for the season.

As the subject of this email suggests, I will be traveling to South America just after the beginning of the year, reconnecting with national pastors, leaders and other members of the community.

Due to current health issues related to his mother and sister, Pastor Rick has deemed it a wiser decision to remain home. As a result, I will be traveling on my own.

I will be making strategic contacts as I attend the annual Holiness pastors' conference. The Brazil Holiness Church is the largest Nikkei denomination in Brazil with over 39 churches in Brazil reaching eight states, and six additional mission churches in Japan.

I will meet with the superintendent and key leaders of the Nikkei Free Methodist Church. We will be presenting plaques of appreciation to both denominations for 55 years of partnership together with JEMS (1964-2019). Cool, right?

Please pray for the accelerated schedule. After completing my ministry in Brazil, I will be going on to serve in Buenos Aires with the Nikkei churches there. As always, I appreciate your prayers as arrangements must be made for my dialysis treatments in both countries.

Specific prayer requests for me also revolve around the summer temps in Brazil. The conference location will be in the jungle heat (95+ and no A/C). And for Argentina, it may seem minor, but the cockroaches that come visit me in my church apartment are monstrous!! I can do without the attention!!

If you have another moment, please visit my prayer site to hear how JEMS continues to bring blessing and transformation in South America. http://bit.ly/nikkei20

With my sincere appreciation for your prayers and support in 2018. May we continue to partner together in 2019! You can make your year-end gift to my ministry by clicking here and learning more: Support PJ

God bless you!

Pastor John Katagi

JEMS South America

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page